Old Masters

15th through 18th centuries

Hauptbau / Curator: Dr Bodo Brinkmann



Online ticket

Get tickets to the museum right here.




The oldest works in the Kunstmuseum Basel’s Old Masters collection date from around 1400. One early highlight is the set of paintings—the single largest ensemble in a museum anywhere—by Konrad Witz, who was active in Basel between 1434 and ca. 1445, including the panels of the Heilsspiegel Altarpiece. No less imposing is another body of work created in Basel around eighty years later: the world’s largest collection of paintings from Hans Holbein the Younger’s Basel period includes singular creations such as “The Dead Christ in the Tomb,” the portrait of the artist’s family, the Passion Altarpiece, and the organ shutter designs for the Basel Minster.

These unrivaled masterpieces are on view on the first floor of the main building, surrounded by a rich display of sacred and secular paintings of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, primarily from South Germany and Switzerland, as well as a small selection of Early Netherlandish art.

Works by Flemish and Dutch Mannerists—including the earliest autonomous depictions of landscapes in the Basel collection—and contemporaneous Swiss portraits and allegories by Hans Bock the Elder and Tobias Stimmer round out the display of sixteenth-century art.

A new subject emerges with German and Dutch still lifes created between the early and the late seventeenth century. These paintings are at once a prelude to the presentation of eminent works from the Golden Age of Dutch painting: from history paintings by Rembrandt and his school, genre scenes, and portraits to church interiors, landscapes, and seascapes, the collection covers all the major genres of the period.
A selection of French Baroque and Rococo art brings us to the historical threshold marked by the year 1800. The exhibition continues in the next gallery with the art of the nineteenth century.

Traveling across time from the modern world, a group of illustrious guests has temporary made itself at home in the Old Masters presentation: Gerhard Richter’s five-part cycle “Annunciation after Titian” (1973), in which creative variation goes hand in hand with increasing abstraction, is engaged in a vibrant dialogue with works of the Italian Renaissance and French Baroque.

Works by:

Konrad Witz

Hans Memling

Hans Holbein d. Ä.

Hans Holbein d. J.

Lucas Cranach d. Ä.

Matthias Grünewald

Niklaus Manuel Deutsch

Hans Baldung, gen. Grien

Jan Brueghel d. Ä.

Georg Flegel

Sebastian Stoskopff

Hendrick Goltzius

Rembrandt Harmensz. van Rijn

Peter Paul Rubens

Nicolas Maes

Pieter de Hooch

Jacob van Ruisdael

Jan van Goyen

Hyacinthe Rigaud

Jean-François de Troy

Hubert Robert







Online ticket

Get tickets to the museum right here.

Maîtres anciens

XVe–XVIIIe siècle

Hauptbau / Commissaire : Bodo Brinkmann



BILLET EN LIGNE

Vous pouvez acheter votre billet d’entrée en ligne.




Les premières pièces de la collection des maîtres anciens du Kunstmuseum Basel ont été réalisées autour de l’an 1400. L’ensemble consacré à Konrad Witz, artiste ayant exercé à Bâle de 1434 jusqu’à 1445 environ, unique par le nombre d’œuvres qu’il réunit – parmi lesquelles les panneaux du retable du Miroir du Salut –, ainsi que le corpus de peintures exécutées près de 80 ans plus tard par Hans Holbein le Jeune dans cette même ville marquent deux temps forts de la collection. Des œuvres d’exception telles que le « Christ mort au tombeau », le portrait de la famille de l’artiste, son retable de la Passion ou les volets de l’orgue de la cathédrale de Bâle viennent compléter la collection la plus riche au monde de tableaux réalisés à Bâle à cette époque.

Le premier étage du Hauptbau abrite ces pièces maîtresses dans une abondante section dédiée à la peinture sacrée et profane des XVe et XVIe siècles du Sud de l’Allemagne et de Suisse pour l’essentiel, mais également au sein d’une petite sélection d’œuvres de primitifs flamands.

Le XVIe siècle s’achève sur les représentations de paysages de maniéristes flamands et hollandais les plus anciennes de la collection de Bâle ainsi que sur des portraits et allégories exécutés en Suisse à la même époque par Hans Bock l’Ancien et Tobias Stimmer.

La peinture de nature morte allemande et hollandaise constitue un nouveau thème iconographique du début jusqu’à la fin du XVIIe siècle. Elle constitue dans le même temps le point de départ à la présentation d’œuvres de qualité issues de l’âge d’or de la peinture hollandaise : du tableau d’histoire de Rembrandt et de son école, en passant par des scènes de genre et des portraits aux intérieurs d’églises, paysages et marines, tous les genres majeurs de l’époque sont représentés.

Une sélection d’œuvres d’art français de style baroque et rococo mène le visiteur jusqu’au seuil de l’an 1800 et marque le passage à l’art du XIXe siècle auquel est ensuite dédié l’espace d’exposition.
Actuellement, d’illustres invités bousculent cette transition vers l’art moderne : l’« Annonciation d’après Titien » de Gerhard Richter (1973), cycle présentant cinq variations, de la plus figurative à la plus abstraite, dialogue en tête-à-tête avec des œuvres de la Renaissance italienne et de la peinture baroque française.

Avec des œuvres de:

Konrad Witz

Hans Memling

Hans Holbein d. Ä.

Hans Holbein d. J.

Lucas Cranach d. Ä.

Matthias Grünewald

Niklaus Manuel Deutsch

Hans Baldung, gen. Grien

Jan Brueghel d. Ä.

Georg Flegel

Sebastian Stoskopff

Hendrick Goltzius

Rembrandt Harmensz. van Rijn

Peter Paul Rubens

Nicolas Maes

Pieter de Hooch

Jacob van Ruisdael

Jan van Goyen

Hyacinthe Rigaud

Jean-François de Troy

Hubert Robert







BILLET EN LIGNE

Vous pouvez acheter votre billet d’entrée en ligne.